rawdacious

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Bocas Baby March 8, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — amb33 @ 2:53 pm

There was a lot going on in Bocas Del Toro. I arrived during Carnival which meant a heightened sense of excitement and energy. There were also many people in the streets at all hours, most of them drunk unfortunately that is not really my scene anymore. The island I was on, Bastimentos, was small and to my dismay I had random men showing up at my door late at night. These were men I had never met knocking at my door. Apparently, everyone on the island knew where I was living within 24 hours and decided it was worth a shot to see if I was “interested.” I did NOT appreciate that especially since I was staying alone in an apartment but the woman who was renting to me explained that it was because of Carnival which is also known as CARNE-VAL or feast of the flesh where everyone goes wild-n-out before ash Wednesday. So basically, all of the men were looking for a little….. MEAT. I was not pleased with this at all. You all know how much I HATE to be woken up. Clearly they did not know who they were dealing with. They were surprised when the scary bear answered their knock –BIG mistake to disturb my sleep uninvited.

Besides that, Bastimentos was fantastic and really beautiful. I did some snorkeling right outside the apartment and then again at a place called hospital point. It was unfortunate that I couldn’t really go out at night, but I really enjoyed my time there. There was a fantastic organic Cacao Farm tucked away up on a hill. I visited the adorable family that lives there and they sell amazing organic products made from coconuts — a variety of coconut oils and cacao. I got some nibs and two bottles of natural insect repellent made from coconut oil and citronella. It makes my skin so so soft and keeps the skeeters away.

After staying on Bastimentos for a week I decided to find another spot so I went to Bocas Town to check out some hostels. While I was there, I ran into Jude, a friend of a friend, and he invited me to come stay on the other side of Bastimentos at the hostel he runs called Bocas Bound. It was a refreshing change from where I had been. It is a brand new hostel and there is a fantastic jungle walk down to the beach. For a raw foodie it is great because there is a kitchen and the restaurant serves a wonderful fruit plate and smoothies for breakfast. I spent most of my time with a Dutch woman I met on the boat Natalie, Jude and his brother Stephen who was visiting from Florida. It was really nice to have other people around since I had been pretty isolated at my previous location– aside from the midnight visitors of course.

Lately, I have been experiencing overwhelming gratitude to the people I meet ie wanting to hug the guy who brought me coconuts every morning and pretty much everyone else. While I try to embrace the love this is kind of overwhelming. I also am having difficulty saying goodbye to people I meet. This is not new, I have always had trouble with the goodbye part but I am blaming this new level mooshiness on this DAMNED love story I read on the beach. It seems to have cracked my heart wide open. But its all good. I will be practicing my non-attachment and focusing the gratitude on the time spent. I will let you know how it goes.

 

Leave a Reply

