rawdacious

Just another WordPress.com weblog

BUH BYE BOCAS March 16, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — amb33 @ 3:17 am

<a href="https://alyssaalive.files.wordpress.com/2010/03/alyssadeck.jpg"&gt;

I stayed at Bocas Bound for four nights had a great time with Jude and his brother Steven and met some fabulous people. I’ve decided to head back up to Costa Rica. I loved Costa Rica so much last year and am considering moving there. I felt a big difference in energy from Panama and want to explore whether I still feel drawn to Costa Rica. So, Natalie and I decided to travel together for a bit. We took buses and boats to the border which was exhausting in and of itself.

The passage into Costa Rica involved a lot of haggling….. What do people think of this? Haggling in a developing country seems to be a little inappropriate. The people we come in contact with here in Central America — cab drivers, street vendors etc more often than not, have less than we do. To give them an extra dollar is no big deal to me. I really don’t like haggling and cringe when people around me do it. All the travelers I meet, agree that it is necessary if I don‘t want to get ripped off. A lot of them believe someone is always trying to rip you off. In my opinion, either it is a fair price or it isn’t. For some people it seems to be a sport. To me, if the price seems fair I pay it if not, I say so and walk away unless they make another offer. I don’t stand there and argue with them when it is clear they think their price is fair. I guess I may be naïve but I’d rather be that than cynical. I would appreciate any thoughts on this topic.

So, after multiple taxis and boat we arrived at the border and crossed this wonderfully decrepit old bridge on foot to get to Costa Rica. This was so exciting to me for some reason. Check out the video!!!
<a >


So, I have returned to Costa Rica to explore the Caribbean coast and whether it really is a place for me to make a home long term.

My first night in Puerto Viejo, I was pleasantly surprised that it wasn’t as shady as some people have suggested. I actually quite like Puerto Viejo it has a wonderful bohemian vibe but the BEST thing about Puerto Viejo is that there is a Raw restaurant there. I was on my way to the grocery store when I saw a sign for a restaurant called Veronica’s Place that was serving a raw burrito. BLISS!! It would be nice to sit back and let someone else prepare my meal for the first time in five months! So I went up and ordered the burrito and a delicious ginger star fruit juice. Needless to say it was ALL FANTASTIC! After my meal I spoke with the owner and chef about her menu and she expressed a desire to add more raw options to her menu. I shared that I had just completed a raw chef certificate and would be happy to consult with her on her menu. We agreed to meet the next day and in our conversation she shared that her husband had had some health problems which led them to embrace the raw and living foods lifestyle. I also told her about my experience with dis-ease and how raw food has helped. We share a common vision and it seems that we may each benefit from working together. So I will stay here in Puerto Viejo for a couple of days longer than intended and perhaps return in a few months to work with Veronica on developing a health center. VERY EXCITING!

Here are some photos of the lovely Veronica and her place.


<

BESOS

 

One Response to “BUH BYE BOCAS”

  1. stacy Says:

    Yeah!!! Yeah!!!

    I am so happy you are in Costa Rica. From the first time we met, you spoke of the pull Costa Rica had on you. When you get there, you find a raw food restaurant??!! Divine!!!

    You look good. I miss you so much!! But you look like you are having the time of your life!! Keeping enjoying & growing. And definitely keep us up to date.


Leave a Reply

